World Humanitarian Day (August 19)

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone

August 19th is World Humanitarian Day, established by the UN in 2009 to commemorate those killed in Baghdad attack and other aid workers who have given their lives for humanitarian service. The day is also a tribute to all those who are still in out there the field, providing humanitarian assistance in difficult and often unsafe conditions

On World Humanitarian Day, Sara Eliasi, NRC´s Area Manager in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq, will participate in a live on air Google Hangout, together with the UN staff and aid workers all over the world.

Sara has worked in the humanitarian field for nearly seven years, and today she is based in the Kurdish regionin northern Iraq, where NRC is working to provide protecton and assistance to the tens of thousands of Syrian refugees that have fled there for safety.  In the past five days, between 15 and 20,000 Syrian refugees have crossed the border in to northern Iraq.

Sara will speak about her background as a humanitarian worker, NRC´s programes for internally displaced and Syrian refugees in Iraq, and also explain more about what protection means to NRC!

The event is taking place from 1:00pm – 4:00pm PST (4:00pm – 7:00pm EST / 10:00pm – 1:00am CET), and Sara will be one of the first ones to chat, directly from Erbil in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq.

Tune into the discussion at http://bit.ly/WHDhangout.

For more information about NRC´s work in Iraq and The Kurdistand Region of Iraq, visit www.nrc.no/syriaresponse.

 

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply